Alan Duncan obstacle course racing.

Alan Duncan is Scottish and has lived in London for over 10 years, despite only planning to stay for five.

For reasons unknown, he competes in obstacle course racing. You’d be welcome to join him if running up mountains, crawling through mud, jumping through fire and mild electrocution are your thing.

Don’t try and get hold of him between 3pm and 5pm on Saturdays while Dundee United are playing. He’s also part-owner of a Spanish football club and a member of Team Brighthammer OCR.

Most people have no idea what he does professionally, despite detailed explanation. Just smile and nod.

How long have you lived/worked in Tottenham and why?

Nine years in March.

When were you happiest?

Sitting in the away end with Werder Bremen fans on a freezing night at White Hart Lane. They lost 3-0 but didn’t stop singing.

What is your favourite sound or smell?

Strangers Almanac by Whiskeytown.

What is your greatest life achievement?

Completing two Ultra marathons? Finishing top 100 in Man vs Mountain?

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Be honest with yourself.

What is your earliest memory?

I’m not putting it in print.

What makes you unhappy?

Lazy people. Procrastinators. People who find excuses not to do things. You’ll regret it when you’re old.

What simple thing would improve your quality of life?

A Nespresso machine.

What is your most unappealing habit?

I run OCR so, a trail of sand. Washing machine constantly on. Clicking bones and limbs.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Lagavulin 16 year old.

Where do you hang out?

London. East and North. Usually within about a kilometre from the A10.

Who or what do you hate and why?

I don’t have time to waste hating things.

What’s been your best experience? Worst?

New Year on a beach in Mexico. And the food poisoning that followed days later.

What is your favourite part/nook or cranny of Tottenham?


What’s the worst thing anyone’s said to you?

How long have you got?

Tell us a secret.

I don’t trust banks so I’ve invested heavily in gold that I’ve buried in strategic locations in Tottenham. Or have I?

What has your career taught you?

Don’t sit back. Don’t get comfortable.

What is your favourite dish and why?

Chilaquiles. It’s breakfast. And it’s Mexican.

What did you do today?

It’s 8.50. Got up at 5.30, went to Speedflex and I’m now at work.

Describe yourself as an animal.


Describe a good day or night out in Tottenham?

Breakfast at Craving Coffee, afternoon at Beavertown and pizza at Styx.